Home In Savannah

 

 

 

We are now at home in Savannah, but first…

There were places, favorite places with special memories, to visit before leaving New Canaan CT,  like the Walled Garden at Waveny Park where I’ve spent every growing season for many years as a volunteer.IMG_0713

There is no place like HOME and our home on Weed Street served us well.  The crab apples bloomed for us one more time.  Dear husband says he isn’t going to miss the Winter pruning. (I don’t believe that.)

IMG_0727

 

 

The movers came on a beautiful Spring day, maybe one of the few of this season.  Did they write that on the truck just for us?  GO NEW PLACES!  Look at the size of the truck that we filled up!  Wasn’t it just a few short years ago (um, NO!) that I moved from my apartment with two roommates on East 87th Street to husband-to-be’s co-op on East 73rd and we wheeled all my clothes down Park Avenue on a clothing rack? Honest!  A few more  boxes and that was all it took to move me to a new place!

 

 

IMG_0732

We’ve made the move.  One week and the boxes seem to multiply rather than disappear.  How will I ever get this done?  In one week, we’ve had painters, landscapers, contractors, security systems types,  and more visit, so I am trying not to be too hard on myself for not having the unpacking finished.  It is busy around the new place!   How long did it take you, dear readers, the last time you had to unpack in a new home?

IMG_0913 IMG_0924

I am making discoveries daily.  Gardenia grow in the ground here and  their perfume is intoxicating on the back patio.  No pine bark mulch here, instead most residents use pine needles.  There are plants that I’ve seen grow in green houses but never expected to see them growing in the ground in the Spring!

IMG_0925 IMG_0899The evenings come too soon for this first week in Georgia.  But who can complain when we end each night taking the dogs for a walk,  with a view like this to bid the day adieu.

 

 

 

 

 

About Jayne on Weed Street

Wife, mother, and owner of pets much loved. Gardener of three decades, amateur photographer, ardent about art, antiques and books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Home In Savannah

  1. bittster says:

    Congrats on the move, it must be a relief being in your new home so don’t let the unpacking get to you!
    We had things boxed up for years after moving and then found many of those things not really as important as we thought they were. Just don’t leave the boxes out in the living room- they’ll haunt you there…. Instead hide them away out of sight. It’s the next best thing to unpacking!
    What an adventure, the new digs look great!

  2. Marcia says:

    When we moved to this house in 05 there were some boxes that went directly to the attic. It was years before they were unpacked but they finally were because I have my first grandchild and the toys from when daughters were babies were unpacked, cleaned and passed on.

    Enjoy your new garden!

  3. elaine says:

    Hurrah! You’ve been and gone and done it – that must have been the longest move in history. :)
    It looks a lovely spot that you have moved too and I hope you will be happy there. Will you change the name of your blog now ? Looking forward to seeing more of your home and garden in due time. Meanwhile keep up the good work – unpacking is almost as bad as packing it all up – I don’t envy you. Take care and enjoy the weekend.

    • Jayne says:

      It does seem to take forever to orchestrate a move! Gardening will be very different here! As for the blog name, that’s a very good question that I have been pondering ! Of course we gardeners always have to contend with the weeds so in a sense I’ll always be on a street with weeds!!

  4. Pauline says:

    Take your time unpacking, we still have some boxes still waiting after 23 years, somehow I don’t think we need whatever is in them! How lovely to find such super flowers in your new garden, it will be a voyage of discovery for you, seeing whatever pops up, have fun!

  5. I think you are right! Abundance in the garden, not inside the house! I should just toss the boxes after a decent amount of time!

  6. Hi Jayne…it was so good to hear from you. Life has been busy and I have not been able to catch up as much as I would like. How incredibly exciting for you that you have moved to gorgeous Savannah!!!! Congratulations…moves are emotional even under the best circumstance, best of luck as you start to make your new house a home….and get acquainted with your new city. I look forward to following along, enjoy the long weekend!

  7. Jayne, I am SO happy you came to visit me today. As I read this blog post I am amazed that you guys just MOVED! Take your time in unpacking, put the clutter aside and concentrate on what you really want to see everyday. What an adventure. xx’s from Houston (which is definitely part of the South).

  8. Great advise Marsha! I’ll be looking for inspiration on your blog as I try to get a new Southern vibe in our home!

  9. Dawn says:

    What fun it will be to discover all of the gardening surprises in Savannah! Just breathe… and enjoy every minute! It will be such fun to follow your journey of discoveries, Jayne! ♡

  10. Welcome to Savannah. I’ve read about how romantic this city is. It sounds like you’ve settled in nicely and are already enjoying the scenery and your garden’s inhabitants. There is nothing like the scent of gardenias.

  11. Sunil Patel says:

    Hi Jayne, so glad you made it and the worst of it is now over. It will take some time to go through all the boxes and to get things sorted out. We moved three months ago but I’m still working on several DIY/fix-me projects and of course, there’s the garden to work on as well. The emergency fixes have now been done and I’m running through a list of “things that should have been done but weren’t”. It feels like it will never settle down but it reaches a manageable state eventually. I do have four boxes left and those contain light fittings that are waiting for me to fix up some ceiling rosettes for them to be set in so I’m not feeling too bad about that.

Leave a Reply

